HITACHI PS-48 turntable

- repair instructions -

HITACHI PS-48 semi-automatic stereo turntable system

This and similar devices with servo controlled DC direct drive in two speeds were once very popular in the analogue age and long in use. Antiskating, hydraulic tonearm lift, automatic tonearm return, standard head shells for quick change of pick-up cartridges, adjustable force range, etc. were the comfort features of these analogue devices. With the advent of digital media, however, many still functional devices experienced a decade of sleeping beauty - if they were not thrown away. Younger generations, who did not yet live to the market launch (approx. 1976), however, today discover the vinyl as an audio medium, and old players are again looked for.

Now, however, it happens that a device after such a long lay time is difficult to get back into gears. While the printed circuit boards still look unobstructed, the mechanical inner life sometimes is in bad repair. Malfunctions often result from old, ineffective lubricants, which can slow down or even block mechanical movements.

At first glance the built-in mechanics may make a confusing impression. This guide is intended to provide some understanding so that malfunctions can be sought more specifically.

Problems around the tonearm automatic (auto return): Player does not start - tonearm is not reset

The tonearm automatic return is a specialty of the PS-48 model and a typical failure candidate. When the end of the record is reached, it ensures that the tonearm pivots upwards and back to the starting position. Once there, the tonearm is lowered and the engine is switched off. If this automatic operation no longer works, it can happen that the record player does not start, although no obvious damage can be detected. Or the return does not work and the last groove is not left.

Note!

The following description is intended for people who have been trained in electrical engineering. Unexperienced please take distance from the idea of ​​opening the housing of this unit. Distributed in the inside of the device are contact points, which carry mains voltage. Incorrect or improper performance of repairs on the mechanics can lead to a risk of electric shock..

1. Dismantle tonearm mechanism

Check first: the device plug is disconnected! All investigations could be done without current supply. Normally the mechanical parts on the bottom of the unit do not have to be disassembled.

First remove the transparent cover (loosen 4 screws and pull off laterally, then upwards) and remove the rubber top from the turntable. Grasp the two openings of the turntable and press the aluminum plate off the motor shaft with the thumb. Is too tight? With two fingers in the middle raise the turntable, then lightly strike the shaft with a mounting hammer. The aluminium plate sits on the conical shaft. Tighten the tonearm and turn the unit, then loosen all the screws on the bottom cover.

2. Check tonearm trigger levers

The figure shows the control elements for the tonearm movement under the turntable. The drive shaft is not connected to the black gear rim during playback, the latter has a "tooth gap". The sensing element (3) approaches the upper trigger lever (4) during playback and pushes it towards the last groove in such a way that the gear rim is set in motion by the drive wheel. The "clack" noise is produced, gear rim makes a complete revolution and transmits the movement to the 2-dimensional control track (2), which at the bottom guides a pin on a lever and thus raises and rotates the tonearm. This movement can be inhibited by stiff trigger levers (4). They are connected by a thin cork disc. There should be no tough oil or grease on these parts. Even the thin sensing wire, which is connected to the tone arm, must also participate in the tonearm movement without resistance. The concealed lever (5) is directly connected to the operating lever "up / down / cut". In the "cut" position, it ensures that the reset is triggered manually. On the underside of the sprocket (remove the small snap ring to unlock it), the control track should be well greased. Normally this fat is still not tough after 40 years and should be left as it is. However, fibers may have accumulated on the underside. Remove these impurities.

Steuerscheibe

You can test whether the triggering of the return is still working by turning the drive shaft clockwise and at the same time moving the tonearm towards the center (temporarily place the device on the bottom cover). One can then follow how the lever (3) pushes the upper trigger lever and the pinion begins to engage the gear rim. In this movement you should also hear a soft click from the bottom (it is a microswitch, which is now switched by a lever and turns off the engine).

2. Check motor control switches

If everything looks functional, light and clean at the top, the more extensive mechanics of the underside come next. The device has two CHERRY microswitches that can switch on the mains voltage. The switch in question, which controls the motor (A) and its associated tripping lever (B), is shown in the following figure and can not be missed after a certain search. The picture shows the lever in the "motor on" position.

Steuerscheibe

The left lever arm of (B) actuates the switch. Circular marked is the pivot axis around which (B) should turn slightly. But, unfortunately, this connection often does not move freely because of the resination of the fats. This causes the lever to "stick" and keep the switch pressed. The consequence is that the motor is not switched back on when the tonearm is moved towards the beginning of the record - one thinks first of all that fuses or other electronic parts have failed, because the glow lamp on the stroboscope fields also only lights up when the motor is turned.

Some penetrating oil and a few back and forth movements make this joint again free. With benzine or similar solvents and q-tips remove all old, resinous fat residues and do not re-oil them. In the case of the switch itself, make sure that the black switch pin is also very easy to move and is not greasy, otherwise it should be replaced. These ordinary Cherry toogle microswitches are still available. The switching is triggered by light pressure on the switching pin (test with toothpicks or similar) and is accompanied by a click sound.

When everything is moveable again, place the device in the bottom cover and test the functions up / down / cut and auto return with a record. On the occasion one can still check whether the built-in pick-up cartridge still provides a signal and whether the speed synchronization can be adjusted by the use of the pitch-control knob.

HITACHI PS-48 Plattenspieler

- Reparatur Tonarmmechanik -

HITACHI PS-48 halbautomatischer Stereo Plattenspieler

Dieses und ähnliche Geräte mit geregeltem Gleichstromdirektantrieb in zwei Geschwindigkeiten waren im Analogzeitalter einmal sehr beliebt und lange im Einsatz. Antiskating, hydraulischer Tonarmlift, Tonarmautomatik, Wechselsockel für Abtastsysteme, einstellbares Abtastgewicht, usw. waren Komfortmerkmale dieser analogen Geräte. Mit dem Aufkommen digitaler Medien jedoch durchlebten viele noch funktionsfähige Geräte einen jahrzehntelangen Dornröschenschlaf - wenn sie nicht weggeschmissen wurden. Jüngere Generationen, die zur Markteinführung (ca 1976) noch nicht lebten, entdecken aber heute das Vinyl als Audiomedium neu und Abspielgeräte sind wieder gesucht.

Nun kommt es allerdings vor, daß ein Gerät nach so langer Liegezeit nur schwer wieder in die Gänge kommt. Während die Platinen bei unverbastelten Exemplaren noch blitzblank aussehen macht das mechanische Innenleben mitunter einen verranzten Eindruck. Fehlfunktionen gehen oft auf alte, unwirksam gewordene Schmierstoffe zurück, durch die mechanische Bewegungen verlangsamt oder blockiert werden können.

Auf den ersten Blick mag die eingebaute Mechanik einen verwirrenden Eindruck machen. Diese Anleitung will etwas Verständnis vermitteln, so daß Fehler gezielter gesucht werden können.

Probleme rund um die Tonarmautomatik (auto return): Player läuft nicht an - Tonarm wird nicht zurückgestellt

Die "Tonarmrückführungsautomatik" - englisch kurz: auto return - ist eine Spezialität des Modells PS-48 und ein typischer Ausfallkandidat. Ist das Ende der Platte erreicht sorgt sie dafür, dass der Tonarm nach oben und auf die Startposition zurückschwenkt. Dort angekommen wird der Tonarm abgesenkt und der Motor abgestellt. Funktioniert diese Automatik nicht mehr, kann es passieren, das der Plattenspieler nicht anläuft, obwohl keine offensichtlichen Schäden feststellbar sind. Oder die Rückführung funktioniert nicht und die letzte Rille wird nicht verlassen.

Achtung!

Die folgende Beschreibung wendet sich an in der Elektrotechnik unterwiesene Personen. Laien nehmen bitte Abstand von der Idee, das Gehäuse dieses Geräts zu öffnen. Im Gehäuseinneren verteilt befinden sich Kontaktstellen, die Netzspannung führen. Fehlerhafte oder unsachgemäße Ausführung von Reparaturen an der beweglichen Mechanik können im ungünstigen Fall zu Gefährdungen durch Stromschlag führen.

1. Tonarmmechanik freilegen

Erst prüfen: Gerät ist stromlos, Stecker abgezogen! Alle Untersuchungen sind stromlos möglich. Die mechanischen Teile an der Geräteunterseite müssen normalerweise nicht demontiert werden.

Zuerst Klarsichthaube entfernen (4 Schrauben lösen und erst seitlich, dann nach oben abziehen). Gummimatte vom Plattenteller einfach abheben. In die zwei Öffnungen des Plattentellers greifen und den Aluteller von der Motorwelle mit dem Daumen abdrücken. Sitzt zu fest? Mit zwei Fingern den Plattenteller in der Mitte anheben, dann mit Montagehammer leichten Schlag auf die Welle ausführen. Der Aluteller sitzt press auf der konischen Welle. Tonarm arretieren und Gerät umdrehen, dann alle Schrauben an der Abdeckung lösen.

2. Tonarm-Triggerhebel prüfen

Die Abbildung zeigt die Steuerungselemente für die Tonarmbewegung unter dem Plattenteller. Die Antriebswelle ist während des Abspielens nicht mit dem schwarzen Zahnkranz verbunden, dieser hat eine "Zahnlücke". Das Fühlerelement (3) nähert sich beim Abspielen an den oberen Triggerhebel (4) und schiebt ihn beim Erreichen der letzten Rille so an, daß der Zahnkranz vom Antriebsrad in Bewegung gesetzt wird. Es entsteht das typische klackende Geräusch, der Zahnkranz macht eine komplette Umdrehung und überträgt die Bewegung auf die 2-dimensionale Steuerlinie (2), die an der Unterseite einen Hebel an einem Stift führt und damit den Tonarm anhebt und dreht. Diese Bewegung kann gehemmt werden durch schwergängige Triggerhebel (4). Sie sind durch eine dünne Korkscheibe verbunden. Es soll an diesen Teilen kein zähes Öl oder Fett sein. Auch der dünne Fühldraht, der mit dem Tonarm verbunden ist, muß formhaltig und ohne Widerstand die Tonarmbewegung mitmachen. Der verdeckte Hebel (5) ist direkt mit dem Bedienhebel "up/down/cut" verbunden. In der Stellung "cut" sorgt er dafür, daß die Rückstellung manuell angetriggert wird. Auf der Unterseite des Zahnkranzes (dazu den kleinen Sprengring entfernen) ist die Steuerlinie gut eingefettet zu sehen. Normalerweise ist dieses Fett auch nach 40 Jahren noch nicht zäh und sollte so belassen werden. Allerdings können sich an der Unterseite Fasern angesammelt haben. Diese Verunreinigungen entfernen.

Steuerscheibe

Ob das Antriggern der Rückführung noch funktioniert, kann man testen, indem man die Antriebswelle im Uhrzeigersinn dreht und gleichzeitig den Tonarm in Richtung Mitte bewegt (das Gerät dazu provisorisch auf die untere Abdeckung stellen). Man kann dann verfolgen, wie das Hebelchen (3) den oberen Triggerhebel anschiebt und das Ritzel beginnt, in den Zahnkranz einzugreifen. Bei dieser Bewegung sollte man auch ein leises Klicken von der Unterseite her hören (es ist ein Mikroschalter, der von einem Hebel nun umgeschaltet wird und den Motor ausschaltet).

3. Motor-Kontrollschalter prüfen

Sieht oben alles funktionsfähig, leichtgängig und sauber aus, kommt als nächstes die umfangreichere Mechanik der Unterseite dran. Das Gerät besitzt dort zwei Mikroschalter vom Typ CHERRY, die Netzspannung schalten können. Der fragliche Schalter, der den Motor steuert (A) und sein zugehöriger Auslösehebel (B) ist im folgenden Bild abgebildet und nach einiger Suche nicht zu verfehlen. Das Bild zeigt den Hebel in der Position "Motor an".

Steuerscheibe

Etwas Kriechöl und ein paar Hin-und-Herbewegungen machen dieses Gelenk wieder freigängig. Mit Waschbenzin o.ä. und Q-Tipps alle alten, verharzten Fettreste entfernen und nicht mehr neu ölen. Beim Schalter selbst ist darauf zu achten, daß der schwarze Schaltstift ebenfalls sehr leicht beweglich und keinesfalls verfettet ist, ansonsten müßte er ausgetauscht werden. Das Schalten ist durch leichten Druck auf den Schaltstift auslösbar (mit Zahnstocher o.ä. testen) und wird von einem Klickgeräusch begleitet.

Wenn alles wieder beweglich ist, Gerät in die Bodenabdeckung stellen und die Funktionen up / down / cut und auto return mit einer LP testen. Bei der Gelegenheit kann man noch prüfen, ob der Gleichlauf nachgeregelt werden kann.